I’m Done Freaking Out, But I’m Definitely Still Thinking About It.

I feel like I have been rambling on so much about this silly boy situation!  This is because it is a completely foreign interaction to me and I have no freaking clue what I’m doing.  The boy situation is ongoing, but I feel like I should wrap things up so I can talk about other things until something really exciting happens.  You’re probably tired of hearing my inner dialogue about boys anyway! So here it goes.

Last weekend, we had a pseudo-date thing.  I say pseudo because it was very casual, nice, and relaxed.  He invited me to a movie and since I worked until 6 on Saturday night, he offered to fix dinner beforehand so we could eat before the show.  He offered to make dinner for me and invited me to the movies!!  I of course completely freaked out!  I have never been asked out to the movies before, no one has ever fixed me dinner before, I was completely crazy with nerves on Friday night when we made the plans and all day on Saturday.  But when I got to his apartment, he was so cool and collected, he has nice as ever,  all of those nerves went away and I relaxed and felt more like myself.  We went from his house to the movies, we each paid for our own tickets, and when we got back to his apartment he decided it call it a night because he had a lot going on on Sunday.  That’s my Saturday night in a nutshell.

Here is what I THINK is happening, and the reason why I say that the situation is ongoing.  Saturday night was not an earth-shattering, fireworks, butterflies in the stomach, sparks flying kind of date.  That is totally fine, it was a good movie with good company and I was happy to have somebody who lives relatively close to hang out with on the weekend.  I like to think that I can read people pretty well, that I am a pretty good gauge of character.  This guy seems to be really reserved.  He likes to know what he is getting into before he leaps in with both feet.  I THINK he was scoping out the situation just as much as I was.  I THINK he is having the same internal monologue  (well in my case it has kind of become external) about “I like you do you like me, what does this mean, what do we do…”  It is evident to me now that he had a clear set of “rules” for this pseudo date thing.  He did not invite me back into his apartment after the movie (which is again totally fine), we parted on pleasant terms, he texted me to make sure I made it home ok.  I seriously think he likes me, but we are both just too nervous to do anything outside of the neutral, friend zone at this point.  Me because I’ve never liked somebody like this before and I have NO clue what I’m doing, and him because he isn’t comfortable enough in this new territory with me yet.  But what makes this situation different than it has been with some of my other guy friends is that I definitely think that in time we could be more than friends.  We could have a dating relationship.  We’re not there yet, but I’m interested and invested in seeing if we can eventually be there.

So for now, I’m just going to go with the flow and follow his lead.  He makes it really easy to be myself which is awesome.  I’m going to keep talking to him, keep texting about random movies and tv shows, keep coming up with excuses to hang out, and hopefully the next time I write about this boy situation it will be to tell you that we have moved forward.  I’m not freaking out as much, the 14-year-old girl inside me is quieting down now that she knows that he makes it so easy to be comfortable around him.  But you can bet I’m definitely still thinking about the possibilities.

Leave a comment