Do, Be, Do, Be, DO

To BE.  To exist in the world.  I think I have this part down.  I AM.  I have had a crazy journey to figure myself out.  My sense of self, and my understanding of it, has changed and morphed into something I didn’t anticipate.  Once I figured out who I AM, the last few years have proven that I am a completely different person than I was 5 years ago.  Shit, I am a different person than I was one year ago!  My 20’s have been this roller coaster ride of self-discovery that has brought me to the realization that the extent of my ability to exist in the world may change from year to year or month to month but I AM and always will BE.  I am confident, eager, caring, compassionate, giving, forgiving, worthwhile.  I am a good listener,  a good writer, a good friend.  This is how I exist in the world.  And I like that about myself.  I know who I am.  I have a lot to offer.  I have a lot to give.  I have a lot to contribute.  The problem is I’m not offering, giving, or contributing to anyone or anything.  And I think this is slowly killing me.

To DO. To move forward in the world.  I have been focusing so much on my jobsearch that I have neglected to focus on anything else.  And I need to do something else if for no other reason than I am trying to save my sanity.  I know who I am but I have been neglecting myself in the process of trying to find a place for my skills to be useful.  Slowly but surely I am realizing the importance of doing something right now, even if it’s not related to the end game.  I was asked to be a part of a new communications committee at my church.  We are charged with discussing ways to improve our communication as a church to current members and to the community so that we can grow.  I volunteered to be the secretary for the committee.  We are working on several projects and I kind of like it.  I have recently been volunteering for an organization that is getting ready for their annual dinner and symposium event that is one of their largest fundraisers.  I spent several hours last week and this week making phone calls and working on a powerpoint presentation.  I got out of the house, I met some new people, I went to the central business district downtown, and I kind of liked it.  Do you see the pattern?

All of my jobsearch woes aside, my biggest obstacle right now is that I feel stagnant.  Not only externally and professionally stagnant, but personally and internally stagnant.  I’m not going anywhere, I’m 27, single, living at home with the parents, sharing a bathroom with my brother, and I can’t see a definitive end to this cycle yet.  BUT, I am partially to blame for feeling this way.  My circumstances are crappy, but I’m not doing anything outside of those circumstances.  I know who/how I AM,  but knowing that and doing nothing with it is  a disservice to myself.  How can I continue to grow and learn if I don’t DO something to move forward?  I could find a place to volunteer for a few hours a week.  I could be more involved in Sunday School.  I could read a book!  I AM.  I EXIST.  Now it’s time for me to DO.  It’s time for me to move forward within and for myself.  Then, when the Universe finally gets the memo that I was serious when I sent out all of those resumes, I can jump right in, better, calmer, and more competent than I ever have been before.

Leave a comment